Konzept_Bild zugeschnitten

The Barefoot College Education Program

The Barefoot College sees education as a key element in order to get disadvantaged groups in India out of poverty. Its training program is focused on the holistic development of children of rural areas; literacy is only part of it, it is particularly important to the Barefoot College to provide practical knowledge and skills.

With its education program Barefoot College intends to raise the children’s awareness for their environment and the social, economic and political forces, dominating development.
The Barefoot College is working with a “bottom-up” approach, i.e. involving villagers and village committees to come up with jointly taken and appropriate decisions. It ensures that teachers, parents and children participate actively in the management of their schools.
With its approach, the Barefoot College changes the village community’s awareness about the importance of education, especially for girls.

The Barefoot College is also working actively with the children. It wants children to learn participation. Therefore, it has launched a “Children’s Parliament”. There the children learn about the importance of democracy and the rule of law, understand the power of the ballot and realize how important it is to choose candidates based on performance and not on caste, belief or sex.

Konzept_Bild zugeschnitten

Das Barefoot College Bildungsprogramm

Das Barefoot College versteht Bildung als wichtigstes Element, um benachteiligte Bevölkerungsgruppen Indiens aus der Armutsfalle herauszuholen. Sein Bildungsprogramm ist auf die ganzheitliche Entwicklung von Kindern des ländlichen Raums ausgerichtet; Alphabetisierung ist nur ein Teil davon; besonders wichtig ist es dem Barefoot College, praktische Kenntnisse und Fähigkeiten zu vermitteln.
Mit diesem Bildungsprogramm will es die Kinder für ihre Umwelt und die sozialen, wirtschaftlichen und politischen Kräfte, die Entwicklung dominieren, sensibilisieren.

Das Barefoot College arbeitet mit einem „bottom-up“ Ansatz, d.h. einer starken Einbindung von Dorfbewohnern und Dorfkomitees um zu gemeinsam getragenen und sachgerechten Entscheidungen und sorgt dafür, dass Lehrer, Eltern und Kinder aktiv an der Verwaltung ihrer Schulen teilnehmen.
Durch diese Arbeitsweise verändert sich bei allen das Bewusstsein über die Bedeutung von Bildung, speziell für Mädchen.

Das Barefoot College arbeitet auch aktiv mit den Kindern zusammen. Es will, dass Kinder Mitbestimmung lernen. Hierzu hat es ein „Kinder-Parlament“ ins Leben gerufen. Dort lernen die Kinder die Bedeutung von Demokratie und Rechtsstaatlichkeit kennen, begreifen die Macht des Stimmzettels und erkennen, wie wichtig es ist, Kandidaten nach ihrer Leistung und nicht nach Kaste, Glauben oder Geschlecht zu wählen.

Lesen Sie hier mehr.